List of topics:

A Marching Band Competition In My Senior Year

Another marching band dream. I am not sure if this related to my previous one or not. Sometimes I do have dreams that connect with one another but it’s incredibly uncommon. This time, I’m not on a plane but on bus with some familiar faces too. I assume we departed from that big school from the last dream but I don’t see it in this dream. Instead we are traveling through this long and somewhat eerily empty highway. One thing I do understand is that I must be in my senior year because I am supposedly the section leader. But just like in real life, I wasn’t too keen on abusing my powers and I mostly just looked after the underclassmen. I was never one to punish them for slacking off or whatever because I never wanted to take marching band seriously as others have. But that’s not relevant. Apparently, some of the other upperclassmen in this dream are complaining that I have missed out an entire month of practice along with huge chunks of the show they all had to learn. God I wish that were true. Regardless, they let me join them on the bus ride to some stadium where we are going to have our competition performance.

We have our uniforms partially on already. I won’t go into too much details because who the hell wants to hear what makes up a marching band uniform, but I will say that we already had our suspender pants and marching shoes on, a term I basically called fatigues because they were comfortable enough to relax and sleep while wearing during long trips. Not to mention, you can put on the rest of the uniform fairly quickly assuming you weren’t obese and can reach behind your back. Then you got your plume and shako box which functions as an emergency vomit box. Don’t ask how I know that. But we’re on this bus and as I look out, I catch a glimpse of a city that looks like something straight out Mega Man or something vaguely scifi with tall ass skyscrapers and highways that zoom all over the place. There’s no traffic on these roads for what is a reasonably big city. For some reason, the whole area is flooded below the high way but everything is constructed above sea level. It’s kind of similar to the city I dreamed about in my “A City inna Swamp” from 2022 but instead of a swamp, it’s like an entire ocean bellow. The stadium itself is this incredibly massive dome like structure and seems to be the very heart of the city. The exterior is like one big glass globe. You can see the reflection of the sky and the sun on it.

Once we arrive at the stadium parking lot, everyone gets off and puts on the rest of our uniforms. I get my Alto Sax and we’re all lined up by the bus side as we wait for the other bus with all the other band students from our school to arrive and disembark. Once everyone is here, we all head inside where we have to wait in bleachers as we watch some other school band preform first. The bleachers inside the stadium are full of other schools and band dorks from other schools. I always hated watching other bands. We even had this stupid rule that you couldn’t take a seat yet while another band was preforming so we had to wait standing up in line before we can have our seat in the bleachers. But when are we going to preform next? We just sit there are watch other bands preform on the field. I start to feel a bit bored and somewhat a bit nervous because I honestly have no idea how our show is going to play out because I missed out on practice in this dream. I honestly just wanted to go home at this point. And I thought about my high school crush too but she wasn’t around as I expected. She was long gone by the time I was a senior so I didn’t have control over that. She probably would had made this waiting a bit more bearable. I would have had a conversation with my band mates but they were too busy talking nerdy shit about drill sets, drum majors, and professional marching bands like Blue Devils or whatever.

Thankfully, this dream wasn’t too long and though we didn’t preform, I did wake up and felt a relief that I didn’t have to improvise my drill sets and improvise our shows music anymore. So that’s two marching band dreams this year. Not a good start and honestly, I don’t know why my brain is making me think of marching band. I don’t miss it. And these past two dreams have nothing to do with my crush which is the only reason why I even make a big deal of my time in marching band back in my high school years. I just don’t want another one. The city in this dream was cool I guess.

Return to Catalog